Thursday, January 26, 2012

The Year of the Dragon....intense. Beware.

Photo credit: Neshan H. Naltchayan

“The Year of the Dragon has always ushered in excitement and exhilaration,” said General Manager of  The Mandarin Oriental Hotel Amanda Hyndman.  “To have a contest to name the dragon brings those characteristics to the forefront, engages our guests, and allows us to celebrate our Oriental heritage in a fun and unique way.”  The celebration was spectacular!

2012: The Year of the Dragon 

Chinese New Year is a time to welcome longevity, wealth and prosperity and to eliminate any negative chi from the past. This fourteen day celebration is very symbolic, and steeped in many traditions, including dedicating each year to a specific animal. The Dragon, Horse, Monkey, Rat, Boar, Rabbit, Dog, Rooster, Ox, Tiger, Snake, and Ram are the twelve animals that are part of this tradition. In 2012, the Dragon is welcomed back, and while 2011, the Year of the Rabbit, was characterized by calm and tranquility, the Year of the Dragon will be marked by excitement, unpredictability, exhilaration and intensity. (Courtesy of The Mandarin Hotel)


The first day of the 2012 Chinese New Year is on January 23, 2012 in China's time zone.   

The Year 2012 is the 4709th Chinese year.

2012 is the Year of the Dragon - Black or Water, your call.

They say that Dragon has nine sons - hopefully not from the same woman.

The nine dragon have different themes, and they all have different versions too. One version is:  (Source - Chinese Fortune Calendar)


  • The 1st son loves music. The head of Number 1 son becomes a decoration for music instrument, such as two-stringed bowed violin (huqin).
  • The 2nd son loves fighting. Many different handles of weapons have the symbol of Number 2 son.
  • The 3rd son loves adventure and keeping guard. He has prestige and is the symbol of safety, harmony and peace. 
  • The 4th son loves howling. The image of Number 4 son can be found on the big bells. It is a symbol of protection and alertness.
  • The 5th son loves quietness, sitting, fire and smoke. His image is often found in temples, such as on incense burners. 
  • The 6th son has the power of strength. He loves to carry heavy stuff to show off his magic energy. He is a symbol of longevity and good luck. 
  • The 7th son loves to seek justice. Chinese like to apply his symbol around law, court, or jail.
  • The 8th son loves literature. Chinese like to put the 8th son as a symbol around steles. When used in this way, it is a symbol of knowledge or education.
  • The 9th son loves water. He is a symbol to prevent fire disasters.

 Exhausting - so let's have some fun and enter the party.